A harsh reality…

In my Media Business lecture on Monday instead of receiving an academic lecture we had a graduate student who graduated from our degree last academic year to tell us about her experience as a graduate so far. She described a harsh reality of the work industry and said if she were to have had work experience before going into a job, her expectation of the media industry would have been a more realistic one as opposed to a made up Hollywood one. The experience she had before that was watching TV and absorbing the media around her. 

Before my placement I used to think exactly the same as her, I’m too much of a day dreamer when it comes to the real world because I get too sucked into the happily ever after that Hollywood creates giving me and others a dream to aspire too. I used to see being a writer the best job in the world someone who meets celebrities and gets to write about them, I used to see it as glam as the film ‘How to lose a guy in 10 days.’

Then I found my placement & my perspectives changed, I hated having to be the girl who stacked away the magazines, I couldn’t wait until I got to the stage of experiencing what it was like to be at the end of the tunnel with all the other writers. The other thing I found the worst to get used to was my expectation was wrong I had to get used to the fact that the aspects that I felt made this job the best thing in the world were wrong and I had to change them with the right ones. 

Don’t get me wrong I still see it as the best job in the world I got used to the reality of it instead of the made up Hollywood one. I started at the bottom and kept at it, I’m determined to get as far as I possibly can! Its just that my expectation was crossed by a reality of the complete opposite…

BUT

The fact IS I thought of it in terms of the consumer, being the writer is the GLAMOROUS bit because you are the one with that raw talent it’s all up in your head. It’s not in a way that most people would expect, the glamorous side to writing comes from creating the imagination and colour within an article that’s where my expectation is.

I think of it this way, you are selling someone the imagination in your head through a magazine! I could write about any subject, I’ll give you an example, let’s imagine I’m an editor and I wrote an article that the best city to go to is Paris and because I wrote it in a creative way it would encourage the reader/consumer to go for it. In terms of the article it would then be a success because I achieved its main aim, I sold my imagination of a different lifestyle to a consumer. 

BUT

I’m an aspiring writer, so I would think, ‘I wish I was the person who wrote this article.’ Forgetting that ultimately the writer is sat in an office with a blank Microsoft Word document open with no words written on and it is his job to complete the article.  

The girl said nothing new to me as I’m already achieving everything she said and I am still to graduate, she did mention that she wished she wrote a blog and I am so glad to have mine.

Love,
Lifeisfunbeingme X 

Leave a Reply

